So here we are two 1/2 months living in Laredo, Texas.  There have been so many ups and downs regarding this move.  More downs than ups honestly.  I’ve been really perplexed on how many think about what full-time ministry really is.  I guess I can say that I can really understand how a preacher feels when they’re in the pulpit petitioning God’s people for offering to support the mission/ministry.  I have never been one to have to ask anyone for much of anything as I have always had a secure job to depend on.  Key word, “secure.”  Ouch, I have begun to see where my security actually was.  It should have always been in Jehovah Jireh, my provider, not my job.

For the past couple of weeks I have been repenting to the Lord for me placing my security in the wrong place.  I am really learning to understand where in the word it states that, “all things work together for the good.”  What I mean by that is that it has seemed like the bottom has fallen out from up under me, but God’s main objective was to get me to lean and depend completely on Him.  I’m at the point in my life now where I’m like, “Okay God, I get it now.  Trust you only.  Now can you please release your blessings to me?”  Just like an impatient child I know, but cut me some slack here this is the first time I’ve ever given up all I know and move to a state 17 hours away from my hometown.

As stated in my last blog posting, the plans we had for us ministry-wise here have been completed shifted.  It’s not a bad thing, it’s just starting from square one all over again.  Lord, how I would have wished we had known about this twist/turn prior to leaving Florida.  It’s too easy that way though.  One thing I’ve learned about the Lord is that He typically doesn’t work in the easy realm.  There are a vast amount of ministry opportunities here in Laredo.  My husband and I are so eager to dive in and work, but it seems as if the Lord is telling us to be still so that He can place some more tools and wisdom in us for this immense assignment He has for us.  See, our plans were pretty basic here.  Move to Laredo, help save some souls, feed some hungry people, and share God’s love.  However, God has a far more intense and better plan than our human brains could ever imagine.  Remember, His word says, “My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the LORD. “And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine.”  Isaiah 55:8 NLT

We have gone through a season of losing friends, people losing faith in our calling, and just plain loss in general.  CiCi Winans sings a song called, “It wasn’t easy, but it was worth it.”  I assume that’s what the Lord is trying to convey to me and my husband.  Answering the call is not the hard part as so many think, but maintaining faith while in the call is the hard part.  Keeping the faith when you have people who act like Job’s friends in the bible telling you that you must have missed a step somewhere, or secretly sinned that’s why your path is so difficult makes it an even more difficult task to keep your faith at its highest.  One thing I’ve learned about the story of Job that many fail to bring to light is at the very end of the 42nd chapter in the book of Job is that the Lord blessed Job after he chose to pray for his friends who actually were some of the main reasons why he toiled over the uncomfortable position he was in.  Wow, what a freeing experience that must have been for Job.  Once he chose to forgive and bless the same ones that told him his circumstances were his fault the double blessings of the Lord were released.

My prayer for my family and I regarding the drought we are currently experiencing is that I chose to focus on blessing and praying for those who somehow feel we made a wrong decision to move here.  My prayers are that they chose in exchange to lift us up in prayer as well.  How I wish they could see what we see here.  Desolation, poverty, hatred, drug abuse, sexual abuse, and so many other saddening scenarios.  I pray that when you people think of us they think about how we are out here in the trenches dealing with the spiritually oppressed that many in their own town have given up on them.  Any prayer or financial support you are able to provide is greatly appreciated.  My husband and I truly believe that God has called us good ground and if you choose to sow into us, we believe that the same blessing the Philippians reaped for sowing into Paul will be bestowed upon you.

Yours in Christ,

Lakeesha Adams

